Can't register X-Lite softphone

Hello Folks, I am a newbie at this. We recently installed Asterisk 1.4, and I recently downloaded the X-Lite Softphone. I am trying to follow the example in the on-line version of the O’Reilly book.

Asterisk is loaded on a Linux box with a fixed IP address. The phone is loaded on to my Windows PC, also with a fixed IP address. So in the sip.conf file, I define an extesion [1000], type=friend, context=phones, host={my PC IP addr}. In the settings of the phone, I give it an account name of 1000, and for the domain value, I have the IP address of the Asterisk box.

Everytime I try to register, I get a timeout, value 408.

Any ideas?

Tnx,

– Mark

Please post your sip.conf file along with any output from the Asterisk CLI.

Thanks. Here it is:

localhostCLI> dialplan reload
Dialplan reloaded.
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/extensions.conf’: Found
– Registered extension context ‘default’
– Added extension ‘s’ priority 1 to default
– Added extension ‘s’ priority 2 to default
– Added extension ‘s’ priority 3 to default
– Added extension ‘s’ priority 4 to default
– Added extension ‘s’ priority 5 to default
– Registered extension context ‘incoming_calls’
– Registered extension context ‘internal’
– Added extension ‘500’ priority 1 to internal
– Added extension ‘500’ priority 2 to internal
– Added extension ‘500’ priority 3 to internal
– Registered extension context ‘phones’
– Including context ‘internal’ in context ‘phones’
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/users.conf’: Found
localhost
CLI> sip reload
Reloading SIP
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/sip.conf’: Found
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/users.conf’: Found
localhostCLI> stop now
localhost
CLI>
Disconnected from Asterisk server
Executing last minute cleanups
[root@localhost asterisk]# Asterisk ended with exit status 0
Asterisk shutdown normally.

[root@localhost asterisk]# cat sip.conf
[general]
;context=default
;allowoverlap=no
;bindport=5060
;bindaddr=0.0.0.0
;srvlookup=yes

[1000]
type=friend
context=phones