Can't register in sip.conf

I apologise in advance if this issue has an answer - I’ve been googling all morning and found scant references - so I’m trying the forums. I’m also a noob. :wink:

I’ve compiled and installed asterisk-1.2.0-rc2.tar.gz on my current (fully patched / updated) FC4 system. There were no compile or installation errors. The sample configuration works fine with no apparent problems.

I have created a sip trunk in sip.conf (making no changes to any of the other sample config files) as follows:
[color=darkred][sip_proxy]
context=from-fwd
host=fwd.pulver.com
type=friend
username=ACCOUNT
secret=PASSWORD[/color]

When I do a “sip reload”, I get the following error
[color=darkred]firewall*CLI> sip reload
Reloading SIP
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/sip.conf’: Found
Nov 14 14:01:10 WARNING[31966]: acl.c:244 ast_get_ip_or_srv: Unable to lookup ‘’
== Parsing ‘/etc/asterisk/sip_notify.conf’: Found[/color]

Note that the hostname is blank. Does this error ring any bells for anybody???

I went looking inside the source code and doing some hacks to log what’s going on…
I can see that [color=darkred]ast_get_ip_or_srv[/color] calls [color=darkred]ast_get_srv[/color] which calls [color=darkred]ast_search_dns[/color].

In [color=darkred]ast_get_ip_or_srv[/color], I can see that it is initially called with “value” equal to the host - that is fwd.pulver.com.

[color=darkred]ast_search_dns[/color] returns “1” but does not change the “context” structure.

This means that [color=darkred]ast_get_ip_or_srv[/color] sets the string “value” from “fwd.pulver.com” back to to Null, (as the local variable “host” is not initialised to anything ie is blank). Hence, the error message shows telling me that it can’t do the lookup shows the hostname as a blank.

For all intensive purposes, my computer seems to be fully connected to the Internet. I can resolve addresses just fine. e.g. This note is being prepared and posted to the forums from the same computer.