Can Asterisk interact with customer database?

Good morning! I am a developer whom is new to phone systems, and am curious to know if Asterisk can support my current need for a project.

I am looking to set up a phone system which interacts with my customer database. The workflow I envision looks something like this:

Customers calls my business line -> PBX checks caller ID to obtain their number -> PBX sends number (over some protocol) to external database -> Database checks for that number against existing customers -> IF it finds a match, the database sends (presumably via the same protocol as before) an extension back to the PBX to connect them to their specific service representative. If no match is found, connect them to the next available representative.

In short, I want a dynamic dial plan based on input from an external database. With that, I have a few questions:

1). Is this possible with Asterisk?
2). On a scale of ā€œhelloWorldā€ to 150 gB AAA video game title, how difficult would this be to implement?
3). What protocols does asterisk support to achieve this?

Thank you in advance for your comments and time! looking forward to learning a new skill!

I think it is not a good idea to call an external database when a call comes in, unless you know how to asynchronously update the display. The problem is, if there is a communication problem or something is wrong with the database, no calls get processed and you canā€™t wait until an internet connection times out.

If you keep a local database or simply use astdb.sqlite3 and regularly update it, you should be fine. Itā€™s relatively straightforward to implement this.

1 Like

Yes you can totally do this.

Look at func_odbc, you can define a custom sql command to lookup callers in your external database.

Iā€™d say this is pretty easy, if you look for ā€œAsterisk the definitive guideā€ on google you should find the web version of the book and it has a chapter on ODBC.

2 Likes
  1. Yes.