Building a GSM Conferencing System Using Asterisk

Hi,

I am very new to asterisk system, what i need is to build a Conferencing System that calls 2 GSM phones and register them to a conference room based on a schedule based online system already existing.

What i thought off is having a server running on linux and asterisk server with a GSM PCI card compatible with asterisk and develop a calling system over Asterisk which receives calling requests from the scheduling online system.

Could any body help me to assure that i am in the right direction and where to start?

Thanks in advance.

I think you’ve pretty much got it there. A couple of GSM ports via PCI, tell Asterisk to place outbound calls to the destination numbers, then drop them into a conference. You’ll probably want some sort of script in place letting the callee “press 1 to conference”, lest you conference in their mobile’s voicemail.

Hi jpsharp,

Thanks for your reply :smile:

You’re definitely along the right lines there. You can get a PCI card if you want to but there are also several GSM gateways available for connection to FXO ports or network connected (accessed via a SIP trunk).

If you don’t want to use a GSM gateway you could always use a VoIP service provider and just do it that way.

[quote=“leemason”]You’re definitely along the right lines there. You can get a PCI card if you want to but there are also several GSM gateways available for connection to FXO ports or network connected (accessed via a SIP trunk).

If you don’t want to use a GSM gateway you could always use a VoIP service provider and just do it that way.[/quote]

HI, I am in a similar situation: don’t no much about asterisk and would like to build call queuing for four iPhones that would become queue members to pickup incoming calls. HOw do I go about registering the GSM numbers into asterisk?

An article on building queues shows how to register sip devices referenced with their MAC addresses and some templates.