Best linux distribution to run Asterisk and a web server?

I’m looking to fool around with linux as well as Asterisk so I’m trying to find the best linux distribution (or Asterisk NOW, Trixbox, etc) for doing this.

I’d like to run this linux distribution inside of VMware (on a Windows Server 2003 machine [dual-core, 2GB RAM]) and have Asterisk and a small web server on it.

What is my best option?

I like the idea of Trixbox but it seems to too bloated. I’m a software developer so I enjoy tinking and learning about systems from the ground up. However, I don’t want to learn linux (at least not completely) from the ground up. I’d like to just install a nice (eg. fast and stable) linux distribution and then spend my time fooling around with Asterisk and apache, etc.

Does anybody have any suggestions?

Do a search on the linux distro this has been discussed about a thousand times. Short version is anything will work but Digium uses (or at east used to) RedHat based products so any RH will be one of the better tested platforms - RHEL, FC or CemtOS. Asterisk Business Edition (paid version of Asterisk) is only supported on their own distro (rPath), FC and RHEL.

On the VMWare - DONT DO IT. Yes it “works” if you run in a full voip environment (it will not work if you need a digital or analog card) but the call quality will be just okay at best and crappy most of the time. A $10,000 server running VMWare with Asterisk will probably perform worse than a $1000 desktop PC. Asterisk is a realtime aplication it needs processor time with no lag at all - VMWare cannot deliver that 100% of the time (especially VMWare Server\Workstation - ESX does a much better job with this). VMWare is a great product it just doesnt hanlde realtime applications well (nor was it designed to).

Thanks for the reply!

Regarding the VMware issue, I don’t think I really have any other options.