Asterisk unable to open channel 1 on my new TDM11B

I am a newbie. I have played with Asterisk in my limited spare time for the past couple of weeks. I just got my new TDM11B card yesterday. I configured it using the default setup from Digium’s ‘Basic Configurations and Examples’.

Asterisk fails on startup with the following warnings and erros:
WARNING[8048]: chan_zap.c:771 zt_open: Unable to specify channel 1: No such device
ERROR[8048]: chan_zap.c:6208 mkintf: Unable to open channel 1: No such device here = 0, tmp->channel = 1, channel = 1

I want to know if the card is broken or if I have a configuration problem or some other newbie mistake.

I noticed on power up, but before the zaptel modules are loaded, that the green LED for my FX0 port comes on. But the FXS ports LED has never lit up.

Here are the loaded zaptel modues from lsmod:
wcfxo 13216 0
wcfxs 37152 0
zaptel 225156 2 wcfxo,wcfxs

And ztcfg -vv displays:
Zaptel Configuration

Channel map:

Channel 01: FXO Kewlstart (Default) (Slaves: 01)
Channel 04: FXS Kewlstart (Default) (Slaves: 04)

2 channels configure

If I comment out the channel 1 portion of my zapata.conf file, Asterisk starts fine and the FXO port works.

I have not done much hardware troubleshooting yet. The power cable is plugged in, but I have not verified there is voltage on all the pins. I have not yet moved or reseated the FXS module.

wcfxs and wcfxo are not the right modules for a tdm card, look in your zaptel directory for the right one. ( i dont know it by head).

Please send your zaapta.conf and zaptel.conf files.