Asterisk+OpenSER installed, now what?

Dear Asterisk experts (like IronHelix and baconbuttie):

I have recently installed asterisk and integrated with the OpenSER in a debian sarge3.0rc2 box as instructed here: voip-info.org/wiki/index.php?page_id=3367

1. I am a bit confused how to run this mahcine start working in realtime. Let me state frankly that I worked a bit with TrixBox and baconbuttie’s kind advice inspired me to start from the very bottom i.e. base.

2. Also, whether I need to install some proxy like rtpproxy or mediaproxy in order to overcome the NAT problem with SIP? And I expect advise from asterisk experts here which one to choose from?

3. Or is it wise to have two boxes, one for SER or openSER and the other for asterisk?

Expert advise solicited.

Hi,

Although I am not an expert, I have some familiarity with OpenSER/Asterisk. If you have your own DNS Server or access to a DNS server, then use mediaproxy. I do not know your network background, but i am assuming you have static ip addresses none-the-less. If you are only planning on using openSer/Asterisk for your own LAN, you should not need rtpproxy or mediaproxy, it really depends on your plans for your system and your network. But I am also assuming from your statement regarding overcoming NAT problem…, that you will have SIP phones on various networks, so then yes you will need either rtpproxy/mediaproxy. If you do not have access to a DNS server, then I would suggest you use rtpproxy – but I understand your need to hear it from the experts.

You can definitely set up OpenSER/SER sip router and Asterisk server on one machine.

Cheers!

Thanks a world tlofton1000.

I have installed the asterisk+openSER and rtpproxy. The openSER does not start but says there are 5 configuration errors. Could you share your configuration file? So that I can make necessary changes?