Asterisk for office and virtual office

I am a noob to telephony. I tried to find info with regards to using Asterisk over long distances.

Background: There is an office in the USA and in the Netherlands and I want to setup Asterisk such that all phones in the US office and Dutch office are just extensions of one another.

The US office has 2 PTSN comming in and 1 ADSL 768kbps down, 384kbps up. It will be similar in the Netherlands.

Note: The ADSL is also used for other Internet traffic (email, web, ssh, dns, etc.). Thus I would probably want/need some sort of traffic shaping. What has been others experiences with traffic shaping (using Linux) and VOIP? Any cavaets?

Would I have good sound quality and how many concurrent connections could I achieve through the ADSL with reasonable sound quality? Any recommendations?

TIA

You could have an *-box at each office. Then you could hook them up to each other with any site-to-site VPN (OpenVPN, Openswan, …).

After that you could create an IAX trunk to let calls go from server A to B and vice versa.

A nice tool to assist you in traffic shaping could be MasterShaper (shaper.netshadow.at)…

The amount of connections and quality depends on your codecs, you can limit the amount by placing limits on the trunk, so a little tweaking and trying out will give you some answers on what works best. (search voip-info.org for codecs and bandwidth, to find an overview)

cheers, and good luck!

What you want to do is very easy. If you set up an asterisk box in each office, and then set up an IAX trunk between the two boxes, you could 4digit dial each other quite easily, especially if you just want to go with softphones on PCs, don’t even need any special hardware.

I doubt honestly that you’d need to get into traffic shaping or QoS for your calls…unless we are talking alot of calls (say more than 10 at the same time). I’ve got similar config between the US and Australia, works perfectly fine over regular dsl.