Advice on multi-branch Asterisk deployment

Hello,

I am currently in the planning stages of replacing our branch office POTS lines with a voip solution using an Asterisk server in the corporate office. Since I am new to Asterisk, I am working with an Asterisk consultant but I would like to run a few questions by you guys just to make sure this guy knows what he’s talking about.

1.) We currently have VPN connectivity between the branches and corporate. Will these connections suffice, or would I be better served using a VOIP provider to deliver the connections?

2.) Can anyone point me to hardware requirements that would cover up to 100 simultaneous connections as well as a handful of those being recorded and voice mail? (I apologize if this is obvious, but I have been unable to find any specs).

3.) Can anyone provide real-world examples of where they have tried this and succeeded or failed? What were some of the problems you ran into? Did you have any branches that were able to successfully utilize existing bandwidth (DSL, cable)?

I have read a ton and these are the issues that I can’t seem to find specific answers for. If there are resources out there that I should absorb (rather than bugging you guys), feel free to point me there.

Thanks,
Chris

A VPN connection can work, although you will not have any quality of service (QoS) for your voice traffic. This means that the voice traffic will be subjected to the vagaries of the internet. It will work most of the time, depending on what kind of connections yuou have at each location.