Asterisk and 800 numbers

Hello everyone,

Thanks in advanced for taking the time to look at my question and respond. I am running a Rocky Linux VPS and looking to setup Asterisk. I read a few guides and I’m going to give it a shot. I’m an IT guy and Network Engineer with over 20+ years of experience in Networking, Cyber Security, etc… I know I can get this setup with no issues but I have zero VOIP experience. I was wondering once I get everything setup how do I port an existing 800 number to use the Asterisk system? I’m using ring central currently and tired of paying them for their service when I can run it on my own VPS. I know Asterisk is just the PBX VOIP system and not a Telco so how do you deal with getting numbers and linking them to a VPS running Asterisk?

Asterisk is not limited to VoIP, but if you are using a hosted system, you probably won’t be able to install the hardware needed to terminate traditional telephone lines, in which case you will need to buy services from an internet telephony service provider. If you didn’t have a freephone requirement, you could also use a SIP to GSM gateway device to connect to your local mobile phone network.

First, you need to decide if you want to have

1. a functional system with built less effort (FreePBX with a nice GUI)
  2. customized solution built from scratch ( Install Asterisk on Rocky Linux and configure it from scratch)

Thinking as developer I suggest option 2, but as IT admin I suggest option 1

related to the numbers, you can port them to a reliable SIP provider like Twilio and use them

If you go with (1), you should note that the FreePBX community strongly discourage the use of non-standard platforms, so will strongly advise you to install onto a bare (virtual or physical) machine using their installer, which includes a customised Linux.