Asterisk 1.4 documentation update

Hi,

I’m new to Asterisk. I’m using “The Future of Telephony” book as my guide. However, there are a lot of things that don’t match with version 1.4. When will the documentation be updated to reflect the changes introduced in version 1.4?

Thanks,

Ali Ali

I’m also a relative newcomer … and tend to be a disappointed newcomer more often than I’m happy.

Unless I’m missing something really fundamental, I find the state of the documentation to be somewhat deplorable. I own a copy of the Asterisk book, but that seems to cover Asterisk 1.2. Version 1.4 seems to have made some big changes, particularly with regard to the users.conf file.

I’m having a hard time finding information. It’s painful! Even most of the presumed sources of information – here, voip-info, digium – seem not to have information about 1.4.

Am I wrong?

have you read the documentation that ships with the Asterisk 1.4 source ? there are updated files in /docs and lots of new info in /configs if you read through them.

documentation will always be an issue with opensource software … you can either live with it, or contribute … it’s up to you.

Thanks. No, I haven’t red the docs but I’ll but that on my list.

I too have found the documentation lacking for ver. 1.4. I’ve skimmed through the Extensions.Conf file, but couldn’t find a lot of what I was looking for. After actually reading the O’reilly book, I find it the best presentation I’ve seen but there is so much more to Asterisk that it should be expanded and updated to include all commands that Asterisk understands today.
For several days now, I have been unsucessfull looking for something that documents the current v.1.4 Application Command set like O’reilly’s book does in it’s Appendix B.
If anyone knows of such a documnt, let me know.

Thanks,
Tom S.