[Advice needed] Asterisk VS Commercial Solutions

Hi,

I have been testing Asterisk for about 3 months, and is relatively satisfied with the results at the moment. I intend to use it. However, I would like to know the advantages of Asterisk, as compared to commercial solutions like Quintum, Cisco etc from the user’s/customer’s perspective. I have some basic understanding on what Asterisk can provide for me as a service provider, but will require the strengths that are attractive and useful to customers/users/investors that other solutions lack or do not have.

Any advice is welcome.Thanks.

Regards

google is your friend … digium.com/en/asteriskbusine … sestudies/
voiceipsolutions.com/Asteris … tudies.htm

although it has to be said, you don’t tend to see much in the way of comparison.

Hi baconbuttie,

appreciate your comments.

I’ve taken a brief look on the links, sorry to say that they are not very relevant for my case. Thanks anyway.

Regards

Asterisk is what you make it, which is to say the fact that the source is open there is obviously a huge community using/breaking/modifying/customizing it to do what ever you or your customers pretty little heads would like to do with it (assuming you have some one with the commensurate knowledge to code the solutions)

With a proprietary solution, you are stuck with what they think their installed base needs. Request for additions are just that. They may make it into a release, but the time frame is beyond anything you might find in an open source solution.

If you build it, they will call

d

I think best strategy is to focus on price, assuming that your cost of customization (in terms of internal development or system integration) is less than buying another vendor’s solution :smile: