A working module for USB voice modems (dongles)

Colleagues, please tell me, is there currently a working module to support voice USB modems?
Once upon a time there were several of these, but then they stopped compiling, and the developers mysteriously disappeared.

Is there a working solution now?

Thanks in advance,
Ogogon.

Speaking from purely a project perspective, there are no channel drivers included for such a thing and none have been contributed previously.

What’s wrong with these devices? I remember a huge wave of activity 10-15 years ago. Several versions of such drivers were supported at the same time, and users massively bought modems with unlocked voice. I don’t really understand why Digium pretended not to see this.

I have no experience with them so can’t comment, 'nor do I know of anyone who did use them.

Judging by your words, you are a happy person who has no worries or problems.
I’m even ready to believe that you have never installed Asterisk in the London slums, the favelas of Sao Paulo and the Moscow district “Western Biryulyovo”!

Such an attitude will not endear you to people from whom you might desire
assistance and expertise in the future.

1 Like

Really, I didn’t want to offend anyone! Alas, I am not a native English speaker, and perhaps my joke came with an unplanned intonation. Moreover, I, too, have never been to the terrible places listed, but I watched films about them on the Travel+ satellite channel.

especialy as an ATA is cheaper than a PC with a USB voice modem
and just work out the box

Hello! Could you provide an example of an ATA device? I’m not quite sure what you’re referring to.

Here's a clear example: GoIP with 8 channels is priced at $348. Dividing by 8, the cost per GSM channel is $43.5.

Similarly, the Huawei E1750 is listed at $14 while locally it's sold for $7.

well you newer mention that you were talking abut GSM dongles
what is the cost of just using the dongel for internet and make VoIP calls ?