When using asterisk ari, am i meant to develop my own softphone?

I’m a quite a rookie at asterisk development, i understand some basic fundamental concepts of channels and bridges . i understand that channels are created by the channel driver written in c when using a dialplan configuration.i have been able to configure sip phones to make inbound calls and outbound and also been able to configure a local sip provider to make trunk calls. The issue i have is with ari, what i dont understand is if i am meant to develop a soft sip phone (on a browser) from where a channels rest call is initiated. and if i’m mean to do that , how will the audio be communicated via the browser.

ARI itself isn’t made for developing softphones or anything like that. That is outside of its scope. ARI provides the fundamentals to write Asterisk applications - like a new Voicemail, or a new call queue.

Thanks for the response @jcolp, So i have seen an example on youtube where a php client used asterisk ari. and on the html page , its had html buttons like “Call”, “Answer” , "Hangup " and i believe these rest actions are based on ;
POST /channels/{channelId} - dial (originate )
POST /channels/{channelId}/answer - answer
DELETE /channels/{channelId}
What i don’t understand is if a call is meant to be taken from the browser ,or there is a way of communication between endpoints via the browser. Thanks for your help

If the call was being done and audio was going through the browser then it was likely using WebRTC, which allows VoIP to be done through the browser. That is completely separate from ARI.

Okay @jcolp , so if am using a sip phone like linphone or zoiper , how can asterisk dialplans be replaced with ARI ?