Trying to understand syntax/variables In Asterisk

We have an asterisk preconfigured setup at work.

There are certain variables ( I guess they are variables ) I don’t know where were defined/initialized and how extensions.conf accesses there values.

I’m not even sure If they’re variables. I’m Just new to Asterisk and would like to get a better understanding of what I’m looking at.

For example:

exten => makecall,1,NoOp( DialOut ${DST1} )
exten => makecall,2,Dial(SIP/${DST1}@mtnsat-outbound,30,S(${AVALSEC}))
exten => makecall,3,Hangup

or

exten => makecallEMC,1,NoOp( DialOut ${DST1} )
exten => makecallEMC,2,Dial(SIP/${DST1}@mtnsat-outbound,30,S(${AVALSEC}))
exten => makecallEMC,3,Hangup

I don’t see “makecall” or “makecallEMC” defined anywhere In extensions.conf and there Is no Include file In extensions.conf either.

I’m a bit confused and would appreciate any Info regarding the above.

Thank you.

Your code is has the following variables in it:

${DST1} which appears to be a destination to dial

and (${AVALSEC} which appears to be a limit on the duration of the call.

makecall and makecallEMC are Extensions,not variables.

Hi. Thanks.
I guess my next question is why are names being used for extensions and how are they defined? How I can I see what makecall or makecallEMC translate to.

They are defined in your extensions.conf as you said.

Both extensions dial out a call to whatever number is in the variable DST1 with a call-limit of AVALSEC.
exten => makecall,1,NoOp( DialOut ${DST1} )
exten => makecall,2,Dial(SIP/${DST1}@mtnsat-outbound,30,S(${AVALSEC}))
exten => makecall,3,Hangup

exten => makecallEMC,1,NoOp( DialOut ${DST1} )
exten => makecallEMC,2,Dial(SIP/${DST1}@mtnsat-outbound,30,S(${AVALSEC}))
exten => makecallEMC,3,Hangup

The code is the same between them, only the extension name is different.