Setting up a new voip system?

Hi there! I’m a total newbie when it comes to voip etc etc, and have been doing a bit of reading up about setting up a future voip system/server.

Ive got an ok ish PC which im going to use as this server/test server so I can play around with voip and so on. I’m going to be putting Asterisk on this server as ive read mainly good things about it.

I’m going to be purchasing a ISDN card for this server and have found a suitable model based on recommendations.

The thing is, what else do i need?

Obviously I need an ISDN line right? Is there anywhere or any way I can get around this, or cheap as its just for testing?

What about phone numbers, or do these relate to the ISDN card.

Any more information needed?

I will be using another spare PC as a client pc to do all the testing, but unsure which actual client software to run. Any recommendations please?

Thanks

No you don’t need ISDN at all just use sip or IAX trunks.

Ian

No you don’t need ISDN at all just use sip or IAX trunks.

Ian[/quote]

Thanks for the reply Ian.

So what exactly would I need to buy/setup one ive actually got a server running asterisk? As you can probably tell, im missing some fundamental understanding

Like any project Firstly you need to define what you want to do and what your budget is.

But to experiment with asterisk you need a PC and a client. that can be a softphone on another PC or a IP Hardphone.

If you budget is $0 then softphone if its bigger then look at hardphones etc.

Ian

Thanks again for the information.

I will probably use a softphone to begin with then due to the cost, but at some stage will purchase a hardphone for further testing.

Ive done a bit of reading, and as for asterisk, clients and so on I think im OK now, well, have a better understanding.