Problem with bidirectional audio

Hello,

Im new to the Asterisk World. I have set up asterisk successfully on a machine running Linux . And i also installed the X-Lite softphone on the same machine.
Then for test purposes i just installed the X-Lite softphone on a Windows machine which i connected to my Linux machine running Asterisk.

For testing, i made a call from the softphone on the windows machine to the softphone on the Linux machine, and the call went through successfully.
Also, im able to call the softphone on the Windows machine using the softphone on Linux.

The problem is whenever i make a call, i can hear the voice of the person ive called, but that person cannot hear me. This happens irrespective of whether i place the call from the Linux or Windows machine.

Below is a snippet of the code i use in extensions.conf

[testcontext] exten => 1234,1,Dial(SIP/ivan) exten => 4321,1,Dial(SIP/test)

Ive defined the users in sip.conf as follows :

[code][ivan]
type=friend
username=ivan
secret=pwd_ivan
host=dynamic
context=testcontext

[test]
type=friend
username=test
secret=pwd_test
host=dynamic
context=testcontext[/code]

What could be the problem ?

Please help.
Thank You.

One way audio is almost always the result of a firewall issue. What is the topography of the network where you asterisk server and softphones are?

Thanks for the reply Bruce . Well, i think i have checked that there is no firewall running on both the computers . Also, i think the fact that when A calls B, then A can hear B but not vice versa (where A is either Windows or Linux),shows that there is no firewall blocking the voice transfer.
As for the network topology, i have directly connected the two computers using a cable whose one end is plugged into the ethernet port of the windows machine and the other end plugged into the ethernet port of the Linux machine.

What else could be going wrong here ?

Thanks.

Are you sure that IPTables is not running on the asterisk server?