problem ./install_amp --username=asteriskuser@localhost --pa

hi,
i am trying to Install FreePBX on XUbuntu 12.04 Server and get this error when trying to connect to the DataBase:

./install_amp --username=asteriskuser@localhost --password=$ASTERISK_DB_PW --webroot /var/www

Checking for PEAR DB…OK
Checking for PEAR Console::Getopt…OK
Console_Getopt: option requires an argument --password
can anyone help me please?

freepbx.org/forums/

thank you for your interest but i couldn’t find the solution there.i am not experienced on asterisk installation.

You were redirected because you were not installing Asterisk. FreePBX is an add on, which provides a GUI, and is supported at the place I gave you.

My question is just to be clear: This var is replaced with the actual value?

If you could set the variable to a the value you want, you can also directly use the value in the shell command.

yes i know because i have already used Freepbx with AsteriskNow but i would like to install it on Ubuntu server now (with Asterisk on it).I followed this site:http://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=1409028 and when i ran the command ./install_amp --webroot /var/www, i received the issue…

Can you paste the real command used for the install?

I gave the website where it is mentioned but the command is:
./install_amp --username=asteriskuser --password=$ASTERISK_DB_PW --webroot /var/www

I’m still wondering if you replace the $ASTERISK_DB_PW with the real password like:

Ask the people who wrote the command. If someone uses a variable, I expect something to have already set it, and that it might be referenced by other things as well.

[quote=“navaismo”]I’m still wondering if you replace the $ASTERISK_DB_PW with the real password like:

yes i did it but even if i would’nt do it there is a line "export ASTERISK_DB_PW=amp109 " in the tutorial (http://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=1409028) which is supposed to do it. isn’t it?