Outbound Routes question UKdi

Hi

Sorry, I am a bit of newbie to Asterisk trying to configure outbound routes in an Asterisk based appliance. I am in the UK

I have tried to setup the the following outbound patterns on an analogue FXO PSTN line.
_9XXXXXXXXXXX
_9.

As I understand _9 (outgoing line) plus “.” is a catchall for any following numbers

These work for most calls but I am struggling trying to make a call like

9+44XXXXXXXXXXX
or
90044XXXXXXXXXXX

which is a standard mobile number in the UK, lets say it is +4407123456789, not real number, but for example.

Can the “+” not be parsed by asterisk for international calls even if nationally? Much of our address books have +44 numbers in the UK as it makes routing when we are abroad from the UK easier from mobile phones and these could be copied and pasted easily to a softphone, like “Telephone” app on Mac OS X

Is this a UK PSTN issue?

For instance dialling
Replies “the number can’t be recognised”
routed via the FX0 port
This is obviously the UK telcom BT in the UK replying with this

9+447123456789
Replies “the number can’t be recognised”
routed via the FX0 port
This is obviously the UK telcom BT in the UK replying with this

connects as you would expect?
routed via the FX0 port over BT

Am I missing something very obvious?

Many Thanks

Simon

Caution: outbound route is a FreePBX term, and FreePBX is not supported here.

This isn’t a valid UK mobile number. Although it has been common practice to misrepresent international numbers as +44 (0)…, the correct notation is +44… (People did this to avoid providing a separate national number.)

The use of + is not specific to the UK.