No dialtone on FXS ports, no answer on FXO port

I have recently built a new Asterisk server, and have run into some trouble. I can’t get dialtone on my FXS ports, and can’t get Asterisk to answer the FXO port. The TDM800P card does appear to be at least somewhat functional, however. I am getting talk battery on the FXS ports (I get sidetone, and the phone will generate DTMF digits), and zttool shows activity when I take an FXS port off-hook.

I’m relatively new to Asterisk and have been using the O’Reilly book (Asterisk: The Future of Telephony) as a reference. I successfully built Asterisk and its modules from source, and have completed basic, bare-bones configuration for testing. The contents of the zaptel.conf, zapata.conf, and extensions.conf files are taken from the book, with modifications to reflect my hardware configuration.

The “IRQ Misses” value shown in zttool (see below) increases gradually while the system is running. It increases in small bursts when there is activity on the TDM800P (dialing in on the FXO port or taking one of the FXS ports off-hook). I suspected an IRQ conflict, but lspci shows that the TDM800P is using IRQ 4, and that IRQ is not shared with any other devices. There are no other PCI cards in the system; the only other devices on the PCI bus are on-board (though I’ve disabled the on-board sound controller and the USB, RS-232, and parallel ports). I have verified that the bus is PCI 2.2 compliant.

I don’t know if this is a hardware problem or a configuration problem. I would be grateful if someone could look over my configs and offer some suggestions.

Thanks,
Brian

HARDWARE:
Dell Optiplex 170L
2.4GHz Celeron
128MB RAM
TDM800P with quad FXS module (ports 1-4) and single FXO module (port 5)

SOFTWARE:
Debian stable
kernel 2.4.34
zaptel 1.4.1 (built from source)
asterisk 1.4.2 (built from source)

CONFIGS:
------------------------------------------------------------
;;; /etc/zaptel.conf

loadzone = us
defaultzone=us
fxoks=1-4
fxsks=5