Newbie: which phones? which ata? which service?

hi all. I’m very new to asterisk, I have an old powerPC G4 I installed ubuntu and asterisk on it’s up and running and I tested it with the x-lite softphone. My question is about the actual hardware I need to have. Have a home business and want to set up asterisk and 2 phones, what type of phones and ATA should i get? Also, I was thinking for voip service I would go with either Vonage or Broadvoice, although I’ve read a few posts online that say vonage and asterisk dont play well together, is this true?

Those are kind of subjective questions, but I’ll tell you what I would do (noob alert - I’m only a month+ into Asterisk myself).

Get yourself a Linksys SPA3102 for your ATA. For phones, I’m in love with the Grandstream GXP2000 phone, but if you have more modest needs the Grandstream Budgetone 200 phone is good too. I have both those models in operation and they both seem to work well.

I’d then look for a good VOIP provider. I use an outgoing calls only provider, rapidvox.com, and have been happy so far. Do some Google searches etc. as there are a bunch out there. Vonage etc. will sell you a separate ATA for their service, and I’ve never used it with or without Asterisk, so I’m no help on that front, but here is some math I did for my own personal calling;

Rapidvox VOIP provider rate for US calls: 1.2 cents per minute
Vonage - unlimited calls to US: $24.99

24.99/.012 = 2082 minutes = 34.7 hours.

So for me, I’d have to be on the phone for over 34 hours per month to make Vonage a better deal. For my needs it’s a no brainer - Rapidvox wins. Your situation may be different. Good luck.

-Lyle

hey thanks,
I’m also confused about sip vs analog phones, using either I still need the ATA correct? The ATA is the interface to the voip service? Is the main advantage of the sip phone not having to convert the analog signal?

Thanks, I know these are pretty dumb questions, but…