New to VoIP

Hi, I’m new to VoIP and I was adviced to use Asterisk for my PBX server.

Nowadays, I have an analog PBX with 5 PSTN lines (FXO?) and 25 internal phones (FXS?)
The plan is to implement VoIP keeping the 5 PSTN lines and using the same internal phones. In this way, I would call through VoIP to call other PSTN in other cities or countries and continue to use my local PSTN lines to make local calls.
Is it possible to integrate this with Asterisk? If possible, what would be my hardware needs? how should I connect everything?

Many Thanks

Sounds fine, Asterisk can do all of that.
Hardware: for the FXO, get a Digium TDM400P (or the equivalent from Sangoma, they very good). You would need 2 of those, and 5 FXO chips. For the internal phones, get a channel bank for this.

First, if the phones you are talking about are PBX system phones that came with your old analog PBX, they won’t work with Asterisk. You might be able to get some kind of link going between * and your old PBX, so the old pbx becomes an adapter basically, but this probably isn’t worth your time. If you really want to use the old phones, Citel may make an adapter that will let you use them

for the internal phones I’d go with good IP phones- SNOM or AAstra.

However if your existing PBX works and you only want to add VoIP to the mix (IE no advanced features, just a different call route), you may not even need *. Just get some ATAs registered to your ITSP of choice and plug them into spare line ports on the PBX. Then it can choose which line to dial based on what you call (if it has this ability)…

Why not? yusuf has already mentioned channel bank for internal phones. Unless you really need those “stuff” on IP phones you can’t get from old phones, there’s no need to replace them. (One good reason to replace is to simplify wiring.)

many thanks for all your replies.