Need advice setup of asterisk with no PSTN phone line

Hi all,
I am new to asterisk and am planning to experiment with setting up two asterisk servers both having the ability to make calls in/out, but of course not on the regular PSTNetwork.

However, as I do not plan to utilize PSTN but still plan to utilize a hard phone setup with asterisk itself whereas the servers have the ability to talk with each other through IP and possible with ohter individuals via IP. I plan to hook up phones to a Linksys PAP2 T Voip Analog Adapter (which will be connected to my asterisk servers) for the mouth and ear capabilities of a regular phone. Also, these servers will both be utilizing static IP addresses, or possibly one will have a static IP while the other a dynamic IP which I can update with my own IP updating program. Also, I plan to set them both up as gatekeepers but would like to know if this, too, is feasable?

Is this possible? If so, could you elaborate on the methods I should take (IAX, H.323, SIP. iax.conf, extensions.conf, sip.conf)?

Everything you are asking about is doable with *, but you have a lot of reading to do to get started.

I would start with the docs and then hit the wiki for more specific information. I would suggest getting a server up and running and start modifying it to do what you need it to do. The other option is to utilize something like TrixBox (trixbox.org) which may be easier for you to set up and get running. I have linked several A@H (pre trixbox) servers together and have had no problems doing so.

As far as actual configuration, well, it can be done a lot of different ways. Personally I would stick with IAX trunks between your * systems. The PAP-2NA is a nice little box, but beware that if those boxes are behind a NAT’d firewall, you may have other issues with them (and many other SIP devices).