Make Outside Calls

Hello to everyone,

I have a linux server that is running Asterisk on a school campus. I have configured that server to make inside calls to different extensions and have set up various phones and mailboxes. I would now like to connect to the outside world.

Half the campus is already VOIP; therefore, there are VOIP and SIP servers on campus that are connected to the outside network. We are still in the testing stages with this machine though.

How would I go about connecting my Asterisk server to an already running SIP machine to connect to make outside calls that way? I have the IP address and the port number of the machine I am supposed to connect to. I would greatly appreciate any responses with ideas you may have. I am new to Asterisk but am trying to learn as much as I can.

Do I need to do anything with the Zap channels? I do not have any hardware cards installed on this machine itself, that is why I am trying to connect to another server to go through.

Hi
Ths is Reagrading connect Asterisk to Sip out side world to make call with voip
Asterisk server--------->Sip Server like ser or openser(softswtich)–>out
you need to set sip.conf this way

[general]
bindport=5060
bindaddr=2xx.xx.xxx.xx ur Asterisk server ip
maxexpiry=3600
checkmwi=10
vmexten=voicemail
videosupport=yes
rtcachefriends=yes
disallow=all
allow=ulaw
allow=alaw
allow=g729
rtptimeout=60
useragent=IPPBX
dtmfmode=auto
nat=yes

[SWITCH]
type=peer
host=ur sip server ip in campus or ur voip provider
trustrpid=yes
context=main
insecure=very
dtmfmode=auto

other are same as we mention for ur users

In extension.conf
[outcall]
exten => _1XXXXXXXXXX,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=64xxxxxxx)

exten => _1XXXXXXXXXX,n,Dial(SIP/1111${EXTEN}@SWITCH,T)

this will route ur out world call from ur Asterisk to ur Sip server Then sip server route that call to out side as there confoig.
Also u have to Authenticate ur Asterisk ip address at Sip server to make & recivve calls