Is Asterisk capable of

I am new to Asterisk, only just recently have I heard about this awesome piece of open source goodness, so I don’t know all the ins and outs yet. My question is:

Is it possible to set up an Asterisk Box that will take an incoming call from an analog copper line play a custom greeting then forward that call back out through the same copper line (or a second copper line if thats not possible) to my cell phone?

If so, what is required to accomplish this?

Thanks in advanced!

~Andrew

This is perfectly possible with Asterisk. Infact I direct some incoming calls to my mobile using a GSM gateway rather than a PSTN line. To accomplish what you are after though you would need:

. 2 x PSTN lines (one for the incoming and one for the outgoing call)
. 1 x Digium TDM400P board with 2 x FXO interfaces (one for each PSTN line)

If you are not used to setting up Asterisk it might be better to go for Trixbox which will get you up and running quickly (unless you want to learn the basics of setting up dial plans from scratch).

Basically with Trixbox you could:

1. Setup a Zaptel trunk for the two phone lines (called Zap/G0 or something similar).
  2. Setup an inbound rule to route calls coming in on a particular DID to route to your mobile.
  3. Setup an outbound route to force calls to mobiles (starting 07) out through the same Zap/G0 trunk.

In this way calls can come in and go out on either of the Zaptel lines (PSTN lines).

Thank you!

I have to admit I don’t fully understand everything you just told me, but I did get the answer to my question out of all that.

I take it a PSTN line = the copper analog phone line in my house.
The TDM400P = the interface between the phone lines and the Linux Box.
The FXO = are the RJ11 jacks? Not familiar with the Asterisk lingo yet.
as far as Trixbox… I thought that was a breakfast cereal for kids, not rabbits… that’s where you lost me.