I'm getting keep getting this message: Warning [30425]

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to this forum. I am a Asterisk novice. I don’t know the forum rules yet so please forgive me for any mistake.

When I log in to Asterisk I keep getting two warning messages. Both have the same code [30425]. This is what the error messages look like:

[color=#FF0000]WARNING[/color][30425]: db.c:119 dbinit: Unable to open Asterisk database ‘/var/lib/asterisk/astdb’: Permission denied
[color=#FF0000]WARNING[/color][30425]: db.c:600 ast_db_gettree: Database unavailable

I’ve tried googling these error messages but I haven’t found anything.

Can someone please give me some guidance as to what these warning messages mean and how can I fix them?

Thanks very much!

Is /var/lib/asterisk/astdb readable by the user that’s running Asterisk?

Yes it is readable.

This is the result from running ls -l /var/lib/asterisk/astdb:

-rw-r–r-- root root 8192 Sep 26 17:37 /var/lib/asterisk/astdb

I should mention that I’m logged in as root.

What user is running Asterisk? The /var/lib/asterisk/astdb must be readable by that user.

For future reference, the 30425 is the process ID of the thread reporting the error, and does not indicate the cause of the error, although you can use it to tie together messages from the same thread.

It’s run by root as it is the only existing user on the server…For knowledge, how do I check what user is running Asterisk?

Good to know! I thought it was similar to Windows. This just shows my level of knowledge on Asterisk or Linux for that matter. :blush:

ps -aux |grep asterisk

will show you

[quote=“ianplain”]ps -aux |grep asterisk

will show you[/quote]

Thanks! I confirmed that root is running asterisk.

Now that I know that root is running Asterisk, how can I fix the warning messages that I’m getting?

Welp, dbinit is failing. Have you tried deleting (temporarily renaming) the existing astdb and letting Asterisk create it when it starts up?