How to update without erasing the first configuration?

hi all,
i installed :
asterisk-1.2.5
zaptel-1.2.4
libpri-*1.2.2

now i want to have :
zaptel-1.2.6
libpri-1.2.3

the problem is that the server is in used, i already registered some clients and i installed a2billing and many things. and i don’t want to lose this configuration.

if i download theses new releases of asterisk, zaptel and libpri and i install them, will i lose the first configuration ? how can i avoid this ?

any ideas ? thanks in advance for your help !
Aicha

you can safely upgrade the software without wiping your config files (although it’s a good idea to back them up anyway).

just don’t use ‘make samples’ when compiling Asterisk … that will overwrite the /etc/asterisk directory.

always cover your butt…