[HELP] Asterisk Design Question - SMB / 2 Offices / Failover

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting to the forums and I thank you all in advance for any help you can provide in regards to this.

My main question is in regards to survivability of an Asterisk system. Some background on the project is probably in order.

My employer currently has two offices located about 1 mile apart. They are connected with a 100mbps fiber link. At each office, there are approximately 40 users and 4 PSTN lines (so total 80 users + 8 PSTN lines). Currently, they have a Toshiba Strata CTX670 at one office and an ancient Comdial PBX at the other. The systems do not speak any VoIP protocols (although the Toshiba will support Toshiba VoIP phones with a costly upgrade and licensing fee). Additionally, the systems are not integrated at all so to dial between offices you need to dial the PSTN number of the other office and come in just like any other caller.

I am actually the IT manager so this is my first foray into the wonderful world of telecom. I’ve been working with our resident telecom administrator to come up with a good plan on getting an integrated system in place. After looking at several alternatives and options, we happened upon Asterisk and will probably end up at least doing a proof of concept system to test if this design will work.

Basically, what we are thinking is buying 80 Grandstream GXP-2000 phones (40 for each office), 2 FXO-to-VoIP gateways, and 2 Dell Poweredge boxes. We’ll have 1 gateway and 1 Poweredge at each office. What we’d like to accomplish is that if we lost any single component, the system will still work. Since there is high-speed connectivity between the offices, it should be possible.