Hardware required

I am a network administrator for a resort. we have 400 guest line and 75 admin lines. i have been thrown into working with phone systems(NEC NEAX 2400). i have been able to fix a lot of my problems by “GOOGLEING” but we are now in need of looking at a new PBX. this program looks exactly like what we need. what i need to find out is what hardware (other then the server)i need. we have 1 t1 line plus 4 analog line coming in to the resort. i would like to put the admin line on Ethernet IP phones. i need to know how i can hook up the the 400 guest lines (standard Analog phones) to the PBX server.

Any help would be appreciated

given the density of current channel banks, you’d probably be best off looking at a handset gateway like the Citel Handset Gateway (citel.com/Products/Handset_Gateway.asp). that way, you’re not trying to stuff 18 T1 spans into a single box, instead it’s just SIP and a single T1 for your incoming lines.

will cost a pretty penny though. a cheaper per-port implementation would be to deploy lots of ATA’s … but the setup time would be a lot longer, and the physical deployment of 200 2-port ATA’s doesn’t bear thinking about.

Welcome! I think asterisk will be able to help you…
For both the 4x T1 and the analog’s you’d want either Digium or Sangoma cards, both companies make T1 and 4x analog boards. Remember for the analog lines you will want FXO. I agree that IP phones for your admin guys is a good idea, I generally recommend AAstra or SNOM for use with *.

The interesting bit will be the 400 FXS ports for the guest lines. If they are standard analog phones then Citel might be a bit overdone for you, as the main point of Citel hardware is to adapt legacy system phones for analog PBXs to work with *. Generally the system phones that work with analog PBXs use some form of proprietary signalling for the feature buttons like transfer, conf, etc and they don’t work with a standard analog FXS port, thus the Citel gear.