General Questions about Asterisk

Hello,
I have no previous experience with Asterisk but I have very good knowledge and experience in Cisco Unified Communications. So, I know exactly, what is the meaning of VoIP, H.323, SIP, XMPP and etc.
I’m thinking to use Asterisk, but I really appreciate if someone can help me in the following points before reading and testing and at the end find that Asterisk is not applicable with what I’m looking for. The points are:
• Can I deploy Asterisk in Cloud and allow phones to register from Internet like homes?
• Is there an application that is similar to Cisco Jabber or Microsoft Lync (Skype for Business) where I can use it as:
o Softphone.
o Chat and instant messaging.
o Desktop sharing.
• What is the maximum number of phone registration that Asterisk can support?

Thanks in advance.
Regards,

Yes

Most of the softphones support messaging(sip or xmpp), audio and video. Sharing a desktop is out of the scope of asterisk so you will need another software.

There is no limit on peer registration, actually there is no limit with nothing, that depends on your hardware specs.

Thank you too much for your reply.

Regarding:
Most of the softphones support messaging(sip or xmpp), audio and video. Sharing a desktop is out of the scope of asterisk so you will need another software.

Do you mean I have to use another application other than Asterisk or in addition to Asterisk. Like in Cisco: CUCM is the IP PBX and we need another server to work with CUCM to provide presence capabilities (IM and Presence Server)

So is there another application?

I was talking about the sharing Desktop option. Presence is supported by asterisk as well. You can take a look at the features that asterisk supports and then look at the sip client that you want to match your needs.