Failsafe SIP server using Asterisk

I’m VERY new to the world of SIP/VoIP and am researching using Asterisk in a failsafe configuration. I will have all SIP channels on an internal voice system (i.e. no external land lines or other channels, just SIP clients talking internally to each other).

Maybe SIP already does this, but I’d like to see two physical servers that fail over between each other should one die. I’m willing to guess that Asterisk has no notion of a shared state, thus I’m guessing if a scenario happened where Server A died for some reason, a failover to server B wouldn’t maintain any call state (such as the second server being able to restablish calls and reset them up)?

Anyone done anything like this?

My first instinct is to put in two servers and setup Linux-HA and do an active standby IP configuration where the second server takes over a virtual IP of the first server should server A fail. All SIP clients would be pointing to the virtual IP. Then all SIP clients would of course have to re-register with the server and then re-establish any calls that were active (since they’d drop upon failure).

I’d love to talk about this and get some ideas…

Thanks,

Colin Stefani

Cisco Callmanager has this capability, but it does not use SIP. Avaya has a feature called “server duplication” but I do not know much about it. There are some problems to overcome when it comes to a redundant Asterisk setup. If you have the $ and the time I am sure it could be done.

Ok, I have the resources (dev staff) and the skills around to get something done, probably won’t seek outside help in terms of $.

That, said, does anyone know if Asterisk state can be kept externally? Anyway to hook in to Asterisk and in a close to real-time basis capture and update state to a cache engine?