Extension voicemail press 1 for cell 2 for voicemail

Hello, I am new to Asterisk and have acquired an Asterisk 1.8 box. I would like to setup an extensions voice mail to have an option to press 0 to dial that persons extension cell phone and press 1 to dump directly into that persons extension voice mail box. I have about 4 extensions that need to have this done. Currently there isn’t a menu for each extension it just goes straight to the greeting and voicemail. I was looking at the voicemail.conf documentation and was wondering if the dialout option would be the feature that I would need to look at or would it be some type of macro that would need to be written in the extensions.conf?

Like I said, I am quite new to Asterisk but I do understand the basics somewhat.

I tried searching the forum for the answer, but I am not sure if I am using the right keywords.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or give an example of how this would be accomplished?

Any help would be much appreciated!

-Bryan

If I understand the problem, you’d like callers to be sent to voicemail, but be given the option to send the call to the recipient’s cell phone or to voicemail.

This is one way to try it. I didn’t test it all though, but it should get you close.

[phones]
;assuming a 4-digit extension
exten => _XXXX,1,Dial(SIP/${EXTEN},20)
same => n,Goto(voicemail,s,1)
same => n,Hangup()

exten	=> i,1,Hangup()
exten	=> t,1,Hangup()
exten	=> h,1,Hangup()

[voicemail]
exten => s,1,Background(play-options)

;Caller pressed 0
exten => 0,1,NoOp(Use a database to look up the extension's cell phone or pass it as an ARG)
same => n,Dial(DAHDI/g0/${cellnumber},20)
same => n,Hangup()

;Caller pressed 1
exten => 1,1,Voicemail($EXTEN})
same => n,Hangup()

mko, thank you so much for your quick reply. I think I understand, somewhat…

In my extensions.conf I have args for each extensions cell phone declared like this (by the way we have a 3 digit extensions):