Essentials for a pure PSTN routing & Asterisk's capabilities

Hi,
An absolute newbie here, forgive me for being so naive, I have a question for this vibrant community of asterisk pros a simple question.

Scenario:
We have a UAN in our main office with 4 PSTN lines. We have two other offices with one PSTN lines each.

What we want:
We want to setup an exchange solution where we plug in 4 PSTN in our main office to the exchange solution (using some hardware if Asterisk has any). and receive those calls and our exchange setup should present caller with three options (press 1 for our main office, 2 and 3 for either of our remote offices).

If caller doesn’t dial a digit, or dials 1, it should connect the caller with the head office operator and if needed that operator should be able to forward their call to 2 & 3.

If 2 or 3 is pressed, (either by the customer or our operator ), exchange should be able to forward/dial/direct our customer to the relevant office’s pstn line (im not sure if this is possible using asterisk or not). we can have separate pstn lines for dialing our office numbers and somehow connect customer though exchange to our other office of if can can forward their calls to the direct pstn lines of our other offices, that too would work…

my question: Is it do able using asterisk (with any hardware they might offer), and if it is, is there a resource for us to find information about this particular setup (or something similar).

A raw idea of what i had in my mind, please let me know if its conceptually correct and possible and if asterisk can help us achieve that or not.

Thank You!!!

One of the best sources of information about Asterisk is the official Wiki.

https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/AST/Home

There is Also a book ‘Asterisk the Definitive Guide’

You should be able to do exactly what you want with Asterisk and either a interface card or a media gateway to connec to the PSTN.