Do only certain providers allow setting of caller id number?

I’m new to VoIP, Asterisk, and my Sipura 3000, but I have a somewhat easy question…

Do only certain providers all the setting of the caller id number for outgoing calls?

For example, here is a snippet of outgoing extensions.conf:

exten => _9XXXXXXX,1,Set(CALLERID(number)=6135551234)
exten => _9XXXXXXX,2,Dial(SIP/1570${EXTEN:1}@sip.broadvoice.com,60)
exten => _9XXXXXXX,3,Set(CALLERID(number)=6135551234)
exten => _9XXXXXXX,4,Congestion

I’m setting the caller id twice just to make sure it works, but no matter who I call the number displayed is my real number instead of “6135551234” as listed above.

Does Broadvoice not support custom caller id numbers? Could something else in my config be throwing it off?

very few providers allow you to set your own callerid. voipjet is one of them.

Hmm, I can’t get VoipJet working.

Which other providers support this?

VoicePulse (highly recommended), NuFone and SellVoIP come to mind. VP has a special service for Asterisk users; visit connect.voicepulse.com. Their regular service is more expensive, so be sure you’re looking at “VoicePulse Connect for Asterisk”. NuFone is questionable and should be approached with caution. SellVoIP is great if you don’t mind the complete absence of support. Other than that, it’s really cheap.

-Brad

VoicePulse looks really neat, but they don’t have any numbers for my area code (570).

It seems like my only real options for local DID’s are Vonage and BroadVoice. Neither of which support custom caller id’s. It’s not a big deal, but it would be a nice feature to have.

Are any other options available to me or is that it? :frowning:

I’d even be fairly happy with a pay-as-you-go service that had custom caller id’s. VoicePulse does this but requires FIFTY DOLLARS to sign-up :frowning:

voxee and exgn.net do as well.

Checkout this place.

myvoice.splitinfinity.com

They have what you’re looking for.