Designing a brand new IPPBX

Folks,

I am a newbie to this forum, so please be gentle…

Below is a diagram for a home/workshop I am planning to purchase. As shown, I plan on using static IP addresses for both ADSL (SDSL if need be) and Cable to the server running Windows SBS2003R2 Premium, along with one of two analog PSTN lines dedicated for fax use via the server. I know the DSL will enter the domecile via the primary line for the PSTN lines…

My question now becomes this: I want to run my own IPPBX to share use of the remaining analog PSTN line. I would prefer to purchase a separate server (HP PROLIANT DL380 G2 with dual 1.4GHZ CPUs, 2GB RAM, and six 36GB HDDs) to run the IPPBX system (I know it is WAY overkill). I wish to keep all the PBX stuff separate from the network, but if they can be combined without interference, then I am willing to do that. I would prefer to run a Windows-based system, but if Asterisk can handle a server in this configuration, that is also cool. I will go with hard phones for the telephones, but what is a suggested gateway? I want to run my own stuff. I only have basic needs for voice mail, internal system intercom, and call forwarding…

Thanks in advance…

That’s quite similar to what I am looking at doing, but with way more overkill! Two heavy duty servers? Are you using IP phones or ATAs?

From what I understand (and I’m new at this too), you should be able to put the IP phones on the same network without any problem. In fact I probably would have it at least accessible for easy administration. But if you want them separated, you might make the IP stuff a different subnet (e.g. 192.168.1.x for IP and 192.168.0.x for general network, with a subnet mask of 255.225.255.0).

From what I understand Asterisk is really a Unix/Linux thing. I think it can run on Windows, but not sure. You could probably always run a Linux VM on your windows machine, or vice versa - they are certainly powerful enough.