Convert old laptop to ATA

Hi everyone,
I am a complete newbie, but I was hoping that someone could tell me if what I am trying to accomplish is possible. Here we go:

I have an old iBook G3 with a v.90 56k internal modem, and I am installing Asterisk on the laptop now. What I would like to do is be able to basically convert the laptop into an ATA, so I can plug my standard telephone into the laptop modem, and receive calls on the telephone from my Gizmo5 account.

So far I’ve researched it and have found that it is possible, but as far as I can understand, the laptop would need to have a modem that has the proper specs.

Does anyone know if this is going to work for me or am I wasting my time? I am basically trying to avoid buying an ATA device, and use the old equipment that I have on hand now.

Thanks for any help!
-mac

Still no responses…Does no one know the answer or is this perhaps posted in the wrong section?

Hi

Basicly the reason no responses, is that it wont work.

even the cost of running a laprop 2x7 will cost more in a year than buying an ATA and running that.

Forget it an buy an ATA or use a softphone .

I doubt that will work. A modem is a different type of device than an ATA (or even a POTS cheap analog home telephone). To illustrate, can you use a modem to place or answer a regular phone call? No. It can make & answer calls but only for fax calls or internet (dial-up) connections.