Chan_sip vs chan_pjsip performance

Dear Community,

Im setting up a Asterisk 17.3.0 and I was wondering if there is some “good” (in terms of reliability) statistics about the performance of these two channel types, all i know is that this was a good topic in certain Astricon “meetings” and some comparative images about CPS (But im not sure about it)

I will apretiate any information related to this

1 Like

I’ll let more ‘learned’ be definitive but I would suspect that in a typical call SIP only accounts for a handful of packets and RTP accounts for bazillions so the selection of chan_sip vs chan_pjsip should be made on the common wisdom of ‘unless you have a reason why not, you should be using PJSIP.’

1 Like

Thanks for your recommendation @sedwards , im still a newbie in this environment, thats why i don’t have a common wisdom ‘yet’, and we use chan_sip in another asterisk builds, thats why im wondering what would be the best.

I hope that this clarifies why i posted this topic :sweat_smile:

I confess I’m still running chan_sip everywhere. My clients are running systems that I developed before PJSIP and every time I ask they reply “Explain why I should spend sacks of cash and risk disruption to my business for no perceptible benefit? If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

So until there’s a security flaw that’s a ‘business killer,’ they’re not interested.

So, do as I say, not as I do :smiley:

The object concept implemented by PJSIP add more flexibility compared with the static configuration of chan_sip.