Can a regular modem be used as a FXO/FXS card with Asterisk?

Sorry, i am a super newbie with ASterisk, but from a theoretical point, any MODEM, has a FXO/FXS port on it. Is it then possible to use one as an Asterisk analog card? Are there any drivers that support such usage if it does exist (so far I am unable to verify that).

If not, then what would be a good introductory card to buy, and not spend a fortune. I want to tie my box to 1 PSTN line, and that is it…

Thanks a lot for the help

Hi

From a practical point of view, The answer to you first question is NO and it is asked here on a monthly basis.

If you want 1 PSTN line then you need a clone X100 /X101 card. go to ebay there is normally loads there of varying quality from poor to usable.

Ian

Thank you Ian

The X100 cards are no longer supported. They will not work for you.

Buy an ATA or a Digium analog card.

Even though you can still run asterisk on this card, chances are you will experience some echos.

Or, get an Asus WL-500g Premium WiFi Router and flash it with OpenWRT + asterisk v1.4. Then, attach a CUPhone USB2ATA adapter with a built-in of an FXS and FXO ports to interface with a PSTN line.

If you need Fax function on Modem , asterisk support T.38.
If you need modem access to internet, it is better to use windows server to build a access server.

http://www.telecomchinasourcing.com

[quote=“dufus”]The X100 cards are no longer supported. They will not work for you.

Buy an ATA or a Digium analog card.[/quote]

If it’s true X100 cards are not support anymore, I’d recommend you try another distro rather than spending more money on hardware.

Besides we as buyers should not support monopolistic practices like removing support for competition’s hardware.

The lack of competition on the computer world leads to overpriced products, like Microsoft products.

Do we want to create another Microsoft monster? Do we want Digium cards to be overpriced?