Asterisk to mySQL via AGI/fastAGI or function ODBC

I tried both ways to connect to DB from Asterisk via AGI/fastAGI and function ODBC but I am curious which is best and fast way?

There are so many ways

• dial-plan
  • shell script
  • any language(C, java, node-js, …)
    It depends on you!

That’s correct but which approach is the best one when the resource and performance is the major concern?

AGI forks the process which takes time and incurs a penalty. Depending on the system it can even result in audio issues in some cases[1].
FastAGI won’t fork the process, but does require setting up a TCP connection and running another process. It’s better than AGI.
func_odbc runs inside of Asterisk, it’s likely the most performant option.

[1] https://www.freepbx.org/performance-improvements-in-freepbx/

2 Likes

This is not an easy question to answer for you.

I’ve been writing Asterisk applications for 17 years, and the best advice I can give is to choose the path that allows YOU to be most performant.

The design of your application may have a greater impact on performance than the efficiency of a database access method.

My bias is strongly towards writing AGIs in compiled languages. For me, that meant C because I know it best. Looking back, I wish I had decided on Perl. I compare how much code it takes to accomplish a task in C with how much I can accomplish in Perl – and I’m not ‘all that and a bag of chips’ as a Perl programmer.

If, after benchmarking and actually identifying a bottleneck, I could re-write an AGI in C for higher performance. (Avoiding the ‘startup cost’ of scripting languages. You can execute a bajillion compiled AGIs in the time it takes to start a scripted AGI.)