Asterisk redirection mechanism

Hi, I’m totally new to Asterisk I therefore may ask things which are obvious to many … we’re investigating the possibility to implement the following call schema:

a customer has a standard SIP infrastructure including SIP phones and of the shelf PBX solution. This is totally out of our control …
we would like to build a small box (2 x Ethernet ports) to be inserted between the SIP phone and the PBX which is able to route/redirect the SIP calls depending on the callee extension.

The old extensions (that the customer was having on his address book before introducing our small box ) are handled as before and are routed to the proxy/ PBX the customer was using before. New extensions instead are routed/redirected to another asterisk proxy server.

We could change the sip server address on the SIP phones to point to a small proxy/redirect server on our box. The box simply looks at the extension to be called and redirects the sip call to the original proxy or it redirect it to our asterisk proxy…

Is this something feasible ? would the proxy/redirect approach be the best one for achieving this functionality?
“the box” would have enough power to run a proxy and a redirect server.
The redirection has to happen entirely in the box and has to be transparent to the SIP phone.

Thanks for any comment,
Cheers, Joel

if you can change the SIP server address on the phones, then you set up an asterisk box where all the phones register, this asterisk box will register to the pbx as their original extensions - then your dialplan just need to accommodate the call routing, which I didnt exactly get from your description… it would be a messy diaplan but technically possible…

Maybe I was a bit confusing with my description.