Asterisk not picking up my sound file

Folks,

I have been running an older version of Asterisk for the past three years. Never had to touch it.

Now, I am building a new Ubuntu box with the latest version of Asterisk.

In my extensions.conf, I have the following line:

exten => s,4,Background(MY/mainmenuannounce)

I also created a directory “MY” under /var/lib/asterisk/sounds and copied mainmenuannounce.gsm to that directory.

I also ensured that /var/lib/asterisk/sounds/MY and the file under it has asterisK:asterisk as the owner.

However, when I call in, I see that Asterisk is not able to locate my file:

file.c:650 ast_openstream_full: File MY/mainmenuannounce does on exist in any format
file.c:953 ast)streamfile; Unable to open MY/mainmenuannounce (format 0x4 (ulaw): No such file or directory

This setup is similar to what I had with my previous installation. I don’t understand what has changed.

I would appreciate your help in identifying my problem.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards,
Peter

PS: Another interesting thing that I found is that asterisk plays vm-goodbye.gsm at the end. This file plays fine although
there is no such file under /var/lib/asterisk/sounds. Upon searching from the root, I found only one occurrence of vm-goodbye.gsm. This was under /usr/share/asterisk/sounds/en_US_f_Allison directory. Command “grep -i Allison /etc/asterisk/*conf” does not return any reference. Strange.

under sounds is languages directories. en = english, fr = french, es = spanish
put your MY under the en directory.

atleast this is what I do under 1.6.2. I haven’t yet looked to see if the layout is different under 1.8.

I’ll tell something about vm-goodbye.

Playing of this file is hardwritten in source code. To get rid of it I had to modify sources (I’ve found it the only correct decision).
It’s probably in app_voicemail.c source file (if you’re interested).

p.s. We’re using now asterisk 1.4.21.1)