ARI and making a call between 2 extensions through ari-client

Hi there!

I am fairly new to Asterisk and was lately focused on ARI. In particular I am trying to make sens of pieces required to gain some call control functionality through web interface. Naturally, I was quickly directed to ARI. I am able to run examples offered as part of ‘node-ari-client’. I am trying to wrap my head around few things though:

1. My goal is to have javascript along with node.js and node-ari-client to initiate call between extensions 7000 and 7001. Initiate call to 7000, once it answers the call, call 7001 and then once it answers connect 7000 and 7001 to have a speech path.

2. At the moment I am using FreePBX. It generates a set of configuration files which I can’t edit directly. All node-ari-client examples refer to changing ‘extensions.conf’ file. Instead I achieved what required through changing ‘extensions_custom.conf’, in particular ‘[from-internal-custom]’ section. Now, examples say to add something like this in extensions.conf for Stasis application to get activated:

exten => 7000,1,NoOp()
same => n,Stasis(originate-example)
same => n,Hangup()

Once I do introduce such change in a dialplan, I am no longer able to call extension 7000 any more. Rather, when I call 7000 Stasis application is invoked. So, lets say if I would like to use node-ari-client how would I make a call between extensions 7000 and 7001? How should I change a dialplan so that I can initiate call between any 2 extensions on the PBX? Would I have to create Stasis dialplan action for each and every extension? Ideally, what I want is to have 7000 and 7001 behave as normal extensions (can call out, can be called), but I should be able to activate Stasis and through ARI make connections to these extensions. From what I have seen, Statis application only gets activated when SIP call is made for extension for which there is a dialplan with Stasis application defined.