1.4.0 and txfax/rxfax

Has anyone successfully installed spandsp and rxfax and txfax applications on 1.4.0 release of Asterisk?

I tried the latest snapshot of spandsp, as well as couple other previous versions. I compiled it fine, downloaded the asterisk.patch, manually patched the asterisk files, run .configure, make clean, make menuselect and it shows app_txfax and app_rxfax as XX (unavailable).

Each time I made sure no other spandsp versions are installed and put the proper path in /etc/ld.so.conf and run ldconfig, prior to compiling Asterisk. Still no luck.

Any suggestions?

TIA,

Remzi Turer

Hi semsettin!
try make changes in next files:

…/build_tools/menuselect-deps
SPANDSP=1
…/makeopts
SPANDSP_LIB=-lspandsp

I wish good luck :smiley:

Thanks I’ll give it a shot.

I am now receiving:

[CC] app_rxfax.c -> app_rxfax.o
gcc: cannot specify -o with -c or -S and multiple compilations
make[1]: *** [app_rxfax.o] Error 1
make: *** [apps] Error 2

I am no expert in compling, so I looked at Google, but can’t find anything of use.

Good news. I solved the problem. I am running the Asterisk installation on a Xen environment. So I had compiled and installed Zaptel in the host OS, as guest uses kernel modules from host.

However, somehow rxfax and txfax was reliant on some Zaptel modules. So I went into zaptel source folder in guest, make clean, make menuselect, unselect all the kernel modules and save. Then run make and make install.

After that compiling worked just fine for rxfax and txfax.

Spoke too soon, I could have sworn it all compiled and installed fine, but it actually didn’t, I couldn’t see neither rxfax or txfax apps in CLI. I must have been daydreaming I guess.

In any case, last night I managed to compile rxfax fine. But now when a fax comes in, Asterisk goes down. :frowning:

Finally success, at least fax comes in and asterisk does not crash.