Unpair the extension number from the registration username. One account for many extensions

Hello to all,
I am not an expert on Asterisk. Some concepts are not clear to me, and I am not completely clear.
Both for simplicity but also for security reasons, I would like to have the following configuration:

• Accounts for SIP REGISTER
  • extension to define phones.

An account could authenticate itself from multiple phones.

In addition, the username of the account that is sent to the sip register could also be complex would increase the difficulty of an unauthorized REGISTER. Therefore, the attacker should guess the username (alphanumeric, instead of a banal internal number) and the password.

Is it possible to do that?

I miss the parameter username in pjsip, I thought it might help decouple number extension from authentication username.

Here is a sample:
[2001]
type=endpoint
context=phones
disallow=all
allow=ulaw
auth=2001-auth
aors=2001

[2001-auth]
type=auth
auth_type=userpass
password=mysecret
username=myusername

[2001]
type=aor
max_contacts=10

But this does not work. To work username must be valid 2001.

Thanks for your help.

There is no username parameter in chan_sip. What used to be called username is now called defaultuser, and it is only used for outbound calls when registrations are incoming, and before any registration, so is rarely useful.

The official advice, although rarely obeyed, is that the user field in incoming SIP requests should not be the extension number, and that is how to get the improvement in security that you suggest.

The weakness of authorisation user (which I can be used as a match criterion in pjsip, as well, is that it is not sent in the initial INVITE.

Thank you for your reply.
But defualtuser can I use it in pjsip.con? However, does it have to match the extension number?
Could you explain better what you mean when you say: