Two terminals / one number / SIP forking?

hello

I am new to the SIP technology. I have registered a SIP line to a provider that only provide me with one line (one “extension” ?). I would like to connect two terminals. That would be my smartphone and my computer (linphone). The idea would be the two phones to ring with the same number, and I would be able to get the conversation with any of them (I don’t want to have two conversations at the same time obviously). As well as being able to place some calls with any of them.

I run a debian web server with a good Internet connexion and I could use it as a SIP server / relay.

Still an asterisk setup sounds a bit complicated at first glance. What would be the simplest solution ? Is there a simpler piece of open source software that would suit my need ? Otherwise what part of the Asterisk documentation should I follow (what functionalities would I need) ?

I’ve found some info about setting up a “mid-registrar” with openSIPS but it also seems to me quite complicated compared to my goal : http://www.opensips.org/Documentation/Tutorials-MidRegistrar

First of all am I using the right terms saying I want to setup a SIP forking functionality using a mid-registrar ?

Thank you in advance !

Use the & operator in the Dial parameter for the extension, to name two different SIP devices.

sorry David, I don’t get your point…

for now i setup my phone using an address such as
sip:0123456789@sip.domain.com

are you saying I should register as sip:0123456789&@sip.domain.com and have two devices connected to the same line ?

I’m not actually sure about pjsip, but I’m talking about the device independent method.

sip:… identifies a device, not an extension.

When you use Dial(), the first parameter is one or more devices, with possible digits to dial, and separated by &s. Having only a single device whose name contains the extension number is a degenerate, and some would argue insecure, case.