Total Noob question: Forward all calls to a sip account

Hi, I’m a total asterisk noob. Unfortunately I don’t have the time to read and understand all documentation, and I do not have a clear image of what trunks and extensions etc are.

I am trying to set up a very simple system, so I am wondering if I can do so without spending a lot of time.

I have set up Asterisk 1.6.2.5-0ubuntu1.4 on my ubuntu server (dah). I have a GSM USB modem plugged in and configured (module chan_dongle installed) and it looks operational and connected to the network.

My target is:
have all incoming calls (GSM calls that the dongle will receive) be forwarded to an external SIP account.
The external SIP account is registered with a third party SIP provider and is like external@SIPserver.com.

So the question is, what do I need to do to make this setup work? I’ve already copied template dongle.conf to /etc/asterisk which has the "context=from-trunk " changed. I also have extensions-dongle.conf copied there.

If someone feels I should not be asking this question and I should RTFM please say so politely or not at all. If someone still wants to help, I’d be more than thankful :smile:

Thanks,
Jason

Or you can move this to the job forum.

But it’s not “Commercial and business-oriented” …

Yes it is, because you will need to pay for the consultancy.

Thanks, I’ll end up reading. I’m a student with no time nor money :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, which guide would you suggest? I started with this the-asterisk-book.com/1.6/

The standard sources are asteriskdocs.org/, the configuration file samples, the CLI commands core show applications, core show functions, core show application xxxx, etc., and the docs folder of the source tree.

Something basic, like this, should really be covered by the sample extensions.conf.

Note, although the books do tend to lag behind, Asterisk 1.6 is past end of life.