Some beginner questions

Hey all, I have just entered the world of Asterisk, and as my background is in Software Development and not Telephony, I will admit to being a bit confused. I have ventured down this path partially due to some ideas I’ve had and partially becuase I’m always playing with new toys.

I’m hoping you all could help with some basic questions:

1. First an easy one… Is there any advantage of digital over analog connections to the phone network. I realize there are financial advantages, but from a techincal side, does digital systems like T1 offer better clarity, less echo, less CPU processing per channel? Anything other than price?

2. I will apologize for asking this up front, as I have probably read 100 articles and websites on this topic, but I cannot find the information I am looking for. For one of my projects I am looking to receive and possible send SMS messages. I know support exists in Asterisk, but from what I read, it seems that most of it does not work for the US, which is where I am. I know there are SMS gateway services out there, but they all seem to offer more than what I need, not exactly what I need, and charge a lot for it.

To simplify what I am trying to do, assume I have a virtual office of 50 sales people, each with a mobile phone. I want to give each sales person a personal “office” DID line that can receive calls or SMS messages. for calls, I want to connect the sales person with the caller, for SMS messages I want to receive the message into a server, and then either email the sales person with the message or perhaps send it to their phone.

My thought process is as follows:

1. I need to purchase DID numbers. I’ve setup a call center, and I have been through the process of getting DIDs, trnking them on a T1, etc. but SMS throws a wrench in my plans. Questions:
  • Do I need to buy a DID from a Mobile carrier instead of someone like Qwest? I know certain prefixes are “mobile” numbers, or at least used to be.