Receive SMS missed while device was off

I’m new to voip. I got a VoIP.ms account and was able to make calls and sms to and from my (Linux) computer and phone. However, when I tested sending texts to my computer while the computer was off, the computer never got the texts even when the computer was turned back on. I don’t want to have to have my computer on all the time.

I do have a VPS where I could install Asterisk or some other server software if it helped and if the setup work was reasonable.

VoIP.ms has options for sending SMS to email (but then you can’t see the message flow from a single sender as easily) or HTTP GET request (but I don’t want to write an instant messaging web application). I asked their support about texting while the device is off and they said “You can receive SMS through a softphone app, and they will be available only 1 hour after being sent and the app not being registered. There’s no specific app to do what you mention”

Any suggestions? Is this a limitation of SIP - would AIX behave differently? Is this a limitation of VoIP.ms - do other PSTN-to-SIP providers push missed messages out when the device comes back online/registers/whatever? Would a PBX on my VPS provide a solution with a reasonable amount of setup work? Is there an analog of email IMAP/POP for SMS messages - where the server stores messages until the client pulls them down or syncs them? From what I remember looking into OpenPhone it seemed like it would work for me, but I would prefer an open source or at least industry standard not-locked-into-one-provider solution.

Thanks

It’s a limitation of the provider, SMS over GSM is also pushed to the phone, but the SMS centre holds onto messages for a reasonable time.

It’s a limitation of the provider, SMS over GSM is also pushed to the phone, but the SMS centre holds onto messages for a reasonable time.

thanks.