Manually re-invite

I’ve searched and cannot find an answer to this anywhere. I’m sorry if this has already been answered. :confused:

I am trying to find a way to re-invite the media stream back to the Asterisk server after it has been moved off of it. The idea would be to, by default, re-invite the media to go directly between the peers. Then, at some point in time, re-invite that media back to the Asterisk server. I hope this makes sense and I really appreciate your help. Be gentle with me… I’m an Asterisk noob. :stuck_out_tongue:

I don’t believe that Asterisk was ever designed to allow this to be done. However, you might be able to redirect the channels to achieve it. My guess is that you would have to redirect them both into a conference, to remove the external bridge.

You can’t find an answer because it not something people want to do and it is not somethinf for which any explicit provision has been made.

As with all such strange requirements, it is best to say to what problem this is the proposed solution.

Thanks for the reply.

Basically, we have hundreds of users concurrently using our software which implements a web based interface to use our dialers. To minimize traffic and CPU usage to our dialer boxes, we would like to allow the RTP traffic to be handled directly between the peers. The problem is that our solution allows a user to do things like play recorded messages or start monitoring calls that are in process. If the RTP traffic is not on the Asterisk box, this can’t happen. So we would like to be able to pull it back in when needed. Mostly, we’re trying to optimize the usage of our dialer servers to save the company money.

I hope this helps. Again, thanks for the help.

Just a thought…