Installation Help

Hi,

Im new to Asterisk, have spent a good part of my day trying to get it to work. THe first question I am going to ask I know returns more results than there are hours in the day from google, but it is one that fustrates me.

If I boot up my server (Running CentOS 6 & Asterisk 1.8) and try to go into the Asterisk CLI I get this lovely message:

At this point I obviusly checked that Astrisk is running to which I got:

[quote][root@aspen-hp625 src]# /etc/init.d/asterisk status
asterisk (pid 30002) is running…[/quote]

If I stop asterisk and start it I then get this (notice how there is no [OK] after starting…)

[quote][root@aspen-hp625 asterisk]# /etc/init.d/asterisk stop
Stopping safe_asterisk: [ OK ]
Shutting down asterisk: [ OK ]
[root@aspen-hp625 asterisk]# /etc/init.d/asterisk start
Starting asterisk:[/quote]

So I then checked in /var/run (& /var/run/asterisk) and there is no asterisk.ctl file in either. I did read on the internet somewhere that in asterisk.conf ´astrundir´ may be set incorrectly but it is set to /var/run/asterisk

However, I managed to get into the CLI by doing the following (I could get in at anypoint in console mode -c):

[quote][root@aspen-hp625 asterisk]# asterisk
[root@aspen-hp625 asterisk]# asterisk -r
Asterisk 1.8.5.0, Copyright (C) 1999 - 2011 Digium, Inc. and others.
Created by Mark Spencer markster@digium.com
Asterisk comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; type ‘core show warranty’ for details.
This is free software, with components licensed under the GNU General Public
License version 2 and other licenses; you are welcome to redistribute it under
certain conditions. Type ‘core show license’ for details.

Connected to Asterisk 1.8.5.0 currently running on aspen-hp625 (pid = 30059)
aspen-hp625*CLI>
[/quote]